Week 4: Reviewing work / further development

This week I have decided to reflect on what I have created so far and how to develop it further. So far, I have created some shoots around relationships and worked with text that considers relationships. Throughout, I have kept shooting each week to accumulate work and hopefully fit it in to what I intend to create.

The turning point in my project so far was the working methodologies task, which allowed me to engage with archive imagery and how that might fit into my project. This inspired me heavily to incorporate those past images into a new project based around relationships. Working with interview processes allowed me to engage with the communication side to this. I wanted to create a project based around both relationships and communications, therefor am trying to link the two together.

So far, I have interviews from those I intend to use imagery of. Aside from looking at imagery, I have also collected a number of screenshots of text messages and messages from social media where I communicate with family and friends the most, including: text, Facebook, Instagram and FaceTime. This gives a more unique and raw form of true communication from my perspective. This is how I communicate and receive it back. The screenshots are mid-conversation from an array of people, including my dad, my nieces, my friends and other family members. This was important to me to recall a more ‘normal’ way of chatting to those I love.

Screenshots:

I find that communication now has never been easier, you can send an automated text, or type one out in seconds. We can simply call whenever we like and the internet has never been as accessible. Yet, we are growing more apart from each other in the real world. Communication is harder in real life than over the phone. The phones have become a block in social development and can potentially ruin relationships. I wanted to use my phone in a way which aids communication with those I love, therefor I always send text messages to those I care about and remind them.

The screenshots I used show mid-conversation in each individual way, with multiple people I love and care for. I find these more intimate than the interviews, as they had no idea that I would be using these conversations to suggest bonds in relationships through communication. In fact, most of them have no idea I am using these in my work at all. This could be a scary realisation to some, yet to others it could be an embrace to the things we discuss.

There are 5 types of communication (similar to types of relationships):

  1. Non-verbal
  2. Verbal
  3. Written
  4. Visual
  5. Listening

In my work, I aim to work towards visual communication and written. Although my work is not verbally spoken, I want the viewers to be able to see how the conversations I have with those involved may be carried out in their own and perhaps mirror their own relationships too. I hope by pairing my communications with my imagery helps to encourage the viewers to enhance and look deeper into their communication with those they are in relationships with.

I watched this video, which reflects on how art is a form of communication. However, the work I am aiming to create will be an act of communication within itself and those who see it.

Leave a comment