Final Major Project

Initial thoughts:

I have decided to continue with the idea of relationships once more and the idea of communication also. I am still interested in the idea of documentary and shooting the ‘everyday’, this type of imagery has inspired me most the past few months, however I have found my love for polaroid photography again following the end of the previous project. My initial idea for the new project was to look at how the 21st century has helped communicate relationships to audiences through photography. This could be from paparazzi pictures in magazines of celebrity couples or instagram images of couples. All of which have been photographed but have a different narrative to their audiences. I find with images we curate and upload ourselves, we have control over what gets put out and the narrative we create with the images too. Often, people only share the best parts of their lives with others and this is communicated in this way. A smiling couple on Instagram could be strained or damaged in real life. I am also interested in the relationship we have with ourselves, as I have greatly struggled with mine. I find this aspect of life extremely difficult as we have to be with ourselves everyday, so dependant on how we treat ourselves can have a big impact on our lives and our emotional and mental health.

I found these aspects so interesting and hope to work with it a little more through this project. So far, I have a few ideas in my head and will start doing my research to refine my ideas.

Leave a comment