Response 8

In response to my ‘current stage’ post, I have collected some archive imagery to work with which will help build on a narrative which details my experience and relationship with myself in the age of social media. I wanted to use the images from a younger state in order to reflect on how ‘perfect’ we view babies and children in comparison to women. The stages of life in any experience can be uncomfortable and confusing, with the added pressures of social media and poor relationship with self, it can be interesting to see how a person appears differently.

A current reflection is that the images taken of me were taken at a different time, not by me. I did not choose how to represent myself as a child, but now I take ownership of these images and decide how I present them with newer work, enhancing the narrative and transition between child and woman. I believe everyone is entitled to have an experience in life and be able to share it with others, this is my way of doing so.

The images represent a ‘simpler’ time, or so it may seem from the smiles and scenery. Contextually, the times were not simple nor easy, my family experienced a separation and required to go to court in a custody battle where I was split from my mum and siblings. I found this important to mention as the absence of a mother growing up could have also affected my experience growing up and could have potentially began my personal issues, all in my experience.

I am now considering what images I would like to pair with the archives, perhaps the unedited versions from the previous shoots, to comment on a raw version of my personal experience.

Although, I am considering how interesting it could be to edit the archives in a way which I did with the previous shoots, liking them with my previous ideas and considering the editing styles shared via social media.

Leave a comment