Exhibiting Photography

Over the past few weeks we have been discussing exhibiting photography, including the way we edit our shots, installing exhibitions and work into spaces and also hearing from other people for inspiration.

In the lecture with Ben, we discussed the last few weeks and heard from MMU graduate Josh Phillips on his work and experience with exhibiting his work. We recapped discussing our exhibiting at home work, how to exhibit online with Jennifer Ellis (who discussed ways to use online platforms such as websites to share work), Tamara Kametani (who shared insight into documenting work) and Richard Page (who gave tips and tricks onto how to edit instal shots of the exhibitions itself). We also heard from Sylvia Waltering, who shared insight into creating the degree show and ways to exhibit our work as final pieces from our degree. This was inspiring to see how much work goes into physical degree shows and discussed pricing, installing and everything in between. It made me consider what our options could be towards the end of the project. We also heard from well known artist Wolfgang Tillmans on his work and experiences as an artist and photographer.

I haven’t felt necessary to document these slots as I have been taking the information in and considering the work individually and how it could fit in with my practice. However, today’s session with Josh helped me to consider how my work can be presented, using different methods and materials. In one piece, Josh discussed how he had to consider money when creating a billboard-sized piece. He spoke of how he deconstructed and then reconstructed his work by printing it off in sections and recreating the piece, possibly with a new meaning.

I was inspired by some of his work and decided to take note of them:

The sessions have been interesting in discussing our work, however I try not to get my hopes up with the current situation of the country and my ability to showcase my work at home with the funds and materials available.

Leave a comment