Virtual Exhibition Space

Using Art Steps, I have been creating a simple, clean space where I can showcase my work. I felt I should keep it small as if it were real, my space would not take up a whole gallery space. I kept my colour palette very neutral, with greys and whites for the colours. I created an ‘L’ shape floor plan, easy for me to showcase my work on the larger wall, side by side, and the text on other walls.

I incorporated my artist statement into my exhibition space as it felt necessary to pair the work with the artist and some knowledge behind the work. I also added the title of my project to the smaller wall as a way of defining my work and the project it fell into.

After deciding on sizing when printing my images out, I went for A3 size images. I kept this in my images when adding them into the space, by sizing them all the same (11.7 x 16.5 inches). Although, within my space they may look slightly out of proportion as I couldn’t find the correct dimensions of the space.

I sequenced my work first before adding it into the space by deciding how the work would be seen and in which order worked best. The sequence begins with the image of the younger self, beginning the ‘journey’. The next image shares the body and the window, followed by the image of the current self with writing over the face. This is then followed by the final two images, which share the current body, with handwritten text over the top. I felt this sequence to work the best after trialling the images in different ways.

After evaluating my space and asking for responses from my peers, I reviewed it and decided to change it slightly. This is because on ArtSteps, it is easy to get carried away and act as if I have a singular exhibition for myself, not considering space for other people’s work. Therefor, I condensed my work, artist statement and working title into one wall and made the images look their correct size, which would be A3. I also changed the colours of two walls to add some depth and make them look less bare without the other writing on them.

I much prefer this outcome as it is more realistic, yet still ambitious.

Link to Space:

https://www.artsteps.com/embed/6086d33b8f7bb368091f0dc2/1280/720

Leave a comment